Super Bowl Hype and Minnesota’s College Students

Super Bowl LII is not just one day in Minneapolis, it is ten.

Ten days of Super Bowl events create a lot of buildup, hype, and attract a ton of college students. Some college students have been waiting their whole life to see the Philadelphia Eagles win a super bowl. Some college students have waited a mere 365 days to see New England Patriots in a Super Bowl. While Minnesota college students have waited their entire life to see their beloved team even in a Super Bowl. For now, Minnesota will have to live with playing host. What all this buildup and hype creates is a message for college students to be wary of your actions.

Super Bowl LII will use the largest deployment of federal resources than any past Super Bowl. Minneapolis is also relying on officers from more than 50 in-state jurisdictions to control crowds. Law enforcement isn’t going to care if you’re a Viking fan, Eagle fan, or a band wagon Patriot fan. They will arrest if you have committed a crime. A simple criminal charge alleged against a college student affects future educational opportunities. Once you receive criminal charges your University will be made aware of this quickly. Then the University can implement whatever penalty they want without waiting for the criminal case to be resolved. This is why it is so important to have Wanda Gierman at your side protecting your rights immediately.

As college students, you have your whole life ahead of you. Don’t let the anticipation of hosting a Super Bowl affect the decisions you make this weekend. It will impact your future in more ways than just on your criminal record.

Common College Student Crimes

Criminal Damage to Property: The lowest level of criminal damage to property results in a misdemeanor with a sentence up to 90 days in jail or a fine of not more than $1,000 or both.

Disorderly Conduct: Brawling or fighting conduct is enough to result in a misdemeanor with a sentence up to 90 days in jail or a fine of not more than $1,000 or both.

DWI: A first time DWI with no aggravating factors carries a penalty of up to 90 days in jail, or a fine up to $1,000 or both.

St. Cloud Criminal Defense Attorney

Universities act quickly when students receive a criminal charge and so should you. In the unfortunate situation you are charged with any type of crime, contact Wanda Gierman for a free case evaluation

Recommended Posts